Draw down

Things always get a little weird when approaching the end of a temp job.

I don’t know if I’m getting better at it because time has passed, or if I’m just so much more confident in being able to pick up a different job in not much time. But you can feel the tension in everyone else. (Including the permanent employees; the entire section of the company we’re at is being dissolved.)

I feel like this should be a lead up to some sort of meaningful paean about not letting things get you down, or accepting the loss of one thing as a stepping stone to another. I’m not really feeling any of it. I’m just glad for what this particular temp assignment has taught me and feeling ready to move onto the next one.

It was freeing not to have the permanent position dangled over my head. (Obviously, they didn’t have any to offer, what with the dissolution.) Maybe that’s what I’m going to learn: ignore the probably-illusory carrots and you’ll be a lot better off.

I think I’m okay if I wind up working temp jobs for the rest of my life, and that’s freeing, too. I just have to keep working on my side hustles.

I think I might be just exhausted by my weekend. Thank goodness for getting back to work.

Have a ballpoint sketch of a tired king.

20170530_094340

Leave a Reply

