Crayons

Another art-only post. But I spent a little longer making the art than usual, so I hope it’s worth it.

On the downside… it’s made with Crayola crayons.

2017-07-12 22.31.25

I actually really enjoy working with non-standard, ill-respected materials. (One time when I’m not throwing things off the cuff, I’ll have to show you the portrait of a witch with a lamb I drew in Crayola crayons once–I sold the original for $80.) There are a couple of reasons. First is that I’m trying to resist the temptation I have with *any* hobby to immediately spend all of the money on the best materials, as though buying supplies is the same as accomplishing something. Very human. I have to resist it every time I toy with a new hobby.

The other reason is that I really believe the adage that it’s a poor workman who blames his tools.

I’m not against quality, expensive tools. I own a few dozen Copic markers and find them an absolute joy to work with. (I’ve needed to put together an order to refill my paler grays and skin tones for, oh, three years…) But you don’t need them. A piece with Crayola crayons will probably never be as pretty as something I could make with Copic markers, but you can still make a fun, functional piece.

(I also like to do a lot of my experimentation and doodling in dirt-cheap materials, only moving onto my expensive stuff when I’ve got a pretty good idea of what I’m trying to do.)

…so, yeah. That’s, er, all.

Leave a Reply

